Specialised information for physicians and health insurance funds

«Academic medicine and traditional Chinese medicine united»

Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS) has only been recognised as an illness by medical science since the 1990s. FMS is poorly researched, and is still unknown to numerous physicians today. By combining academic medical expertise and traditional Chinese medicine, Prof. Dr. Dr. med. Johann Bauer developed a method of helping patients with FMS. He researched the illness and documented his work with numerous case studies.

read more

«Releasing pressure means relieving pain»

When diagnosing fibromyalgia, the Hoffmann-Tinel sign HTS (1915) on the acupoints is examined. «However, the HTS can also occur without trauma in the places where axons have died and new ones are sprouting, … even where fibrosis has led to the death of nerve fibres.» (Müller-Vahl, H., Mumenthaler, M., Stöhr, M., Tegenthoff, M., Läsionen peripherer Nerven und radikaler Syndrome [Lesions of peripheral nerves and radical syndromes], Thieme, Stuttgart, 2014, S. 75). It therefore makes sense to use the HTS when searching for the tender points. It accounts for the «tenderness» of the acupoints.

Perineural inflammation with formation of a collagen cuff around the peripheral nerves is scientifically proven for fibro patients (Bauer, JA, Pathological Findings and Clinical Outcomes Study of 101 Fibromyalgia Patients Treated by Quadrant Pain Intervention. Frontier Perspectives 15/2, 35-41, Philadelphia (2006)). Therefore one must assume compression and, due to nerve adhesion, elongation when parts of the body are in motion causing the illness .

How does the surgical cure method work?

Healthy peripheral nerves are relatively well protected against pressure or blows by the fascicle structure, their embedment into the epineurium and the perineurium as well as their ability to glide. Nonetheless, with persistent pressure, even a normal nerve may develop paraesthesias and dysesthesias which lead to anaesthesia (missing sensation) and paralysis if this pressure lasts for a sufficiently long time (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., cit., p. 76).

A nerve which is in the process of regeneration is naturally much more sensitive (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., cit., p. 76), may develop an HTS and become a tender point. One can assume that pain syndromes have a cause which is correctable under certain circumstances (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., cit., p. 78). If pressure – besides the elongation of a fixed (adhered) nerve – represents one of the two mechanical damage types of a peripheral nerve, this conversely means that removing the pressure and restoring the elongation ability can correct the cause of a pain syndrome.

Empirically, chronifications have, indeed, subsided and normalised. It is these relations on which the surgical cure method of the fibro disorder is based. Decompression and neurolysis of peripheral nerves is the mechanistic approach to preventing wrong messages to the brain and their interpretation as the experience of a pain syndrome.

Contralateral effects of peripheral nerve lesions

«Individual patients state problems on the opposing extremity after lesion to a peripheral nerve. It was experimentally shown in rats that following dissection of the N. tibialis on a rear leg, approx. 50% less sensory innervation is detectable in the tibialis innervation zone of the opposite extremity after five months.» (Müller-Vahl, H. et al.,cit., p. 81)

These observations explain why it is possible that after relieving and releasing surgery on one side another side may show effects. It makes more sense to observe the four quadrants, since it is then also possible to record “crosswise” improvements.

The stated period matches experiences after quadrant intervention. Here as well, a check-up is done after about five to six months because the pain memory should also have decreased by then.

Fachinformationen für Ärzte und Krankenkassen

«Schulmedizin und traditionelle chinesische Medizin vereint»

Das Fibromyalgie-Syndrom (FMS) wird erst seit den 1990er Jahren von der medizinischen Wissenschaft als Krankeitsbild anerkannt. FMS ist wenig erforscht und auch heute noch vielen  Ärzten unbekannt. Prof. Dr. Dr. med. Johann Bauer hat in Kombination von schulmedizinischem Fachwissen und traditioneller chinesischer Medizin eine Methode entwickelt, um Patienten mit FMS helfen zu können. Er hat die Krankheit erforscht und seine Arbeit mit zahlreichen Fallstudien dokumentiert. Damit hat er die Fibromyalgie sicher diagnostizierbar und auch die Notwendigkeit einer Operation zuverlässig feststellbar gemacht.

weiterlesen

«Druck lösen heisst den Schmerz beseitigen»

Bei der Diagnose der Fibromyalgie wird das Hoffmann-Tinel-Zeichen HTZ (1915) an den Acupoints untersucht. «Das HTZ kann aber auch ohne Trauma an Stellen entstehen, wo Axone zugrunde gegangen sind und neue aussprossen, … auch dort, wo eine Fibrose zum Zugrundegehen von Nervenfasern geführt hat.» (Müller-Vahl, H., Mumenthaler, M., Stöhr, M., Tegenthoff, M., Läsionen peripherer Nerven und radikaler Syndrome, Thieme, Stuttgart, 2014, S. 75). Daher macht es Sinn, bei der Suche nach den Tender-Points das HTZ zu verwenden. Es macht die «tenderness» der acupoints aus.

Die perineurale Entzündung mit Ausbildung einer Kollagen-Manschette um die peripheren Nerven ist bei Fibro-Patienten wissenschaftlich nachgewiesen (Bauer, JA, Pathological Findings and Clinical Outcomes Study of 101 Fibromyalgia Patients Treated by Quadrant Pain Intervention. Frontier Perspectives 15/2, 35 – 41, Philadelphia (2006)). Damit muss man von krankmachender Kompression und wegen Festkleben des Nerven von krankmachender Elongation beim Bewegen der Körperteile ausgehen.

Wie funktioniert die chirurgische Heilmethode?

Gesunde periphere Nerven sind gegen Druck oder Schlag durch die Faszikelstruktur, durch die Einbettung in das Epineurium und in das Perineurium sowie durch die Fähigkeit zu gleiten relativ gut geschützt. Trotzdem kann bei andauerndem Druck auch ein normaler Nerv Parästhesien und Dysästhesien entwickeln, die zu einer Anästhesie und zu einer Paralyse (Anästhesie: fehlendes Gefühl, Paralyse: Lähmung) führen, wenn dieser Druck entsprechend lange anhält (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., zit., S. 76).

Ein in Regeneration befindlicher Nerv ist naturgemäss wesentlich empfindlicher (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., zit., S. 76), kann ein HTZ entwickeln und zu einem Tenderpoint werden. Man kann davon ausgehen, das Schmerzsyndrome eine Ursache haben, die unter Umständen behoben werden kann (Müller-Vahl, H. et al., zit., S. 78). Wenn Druck – neben der Elongation eines fixierten (angeklebten) Nerves – eine der zwei mechanischen Schädigungsarten eines peripheren Nerven darstellt, bedeutet dies im Umkehrschluss, dass durch die Beseitigung von Druck und wiederhergestellter Elongationsmöglichkeit die Ursache eines Schmerzsyndroms beseitigt werden kann.

Klinisch-empirisch sind auch in der Tat Chronifizierungen zurückgegangen und haben sich normalisiert. Auf diesen Zusammenhängen baut die chirurgische Heilmethode bei der Fibro-Erkrankung auf. Dekompression und Neurolyse von peripheren Nerven ist der mechanische Zugang zur Verhinderung von Fehlmeldungen an das Gehirn und ihrer Interpretation als erlebtes Schmerzsyndrom.

Kontralaterale Wirkung peripherer Nervenläsionen

«Vereinzelte Patienten geben Störungen an der gegenseitigen Extremität nach der Läsion eines peripheren Nervs an. Experimentell konnte an Ratten gezeigt werden, dass nach einer N. tibialis Durchtrennung an einem Hinterlauf in der Tibialis Innervationszone der gegenseitigen Extremität nach fünf Monaten eine etwa 50% ausmachende sensible Minderinnervation nachweisbar ist.» (Müller-Vahl, H. et al.,zit., S. 81)

Diese Beobachtungen erklären, warum es sein kann, dass nach einer entlastenden und lösenden Operation auf einer Seite, eine andere Seite auch Wirkung zeitigt. Dienlicher ist es, die vier Quadranten zu beobachten, dann lassen sich auch Besserungen «über Kreuz» festhalten.

Der angegebene Zeitraum entspricht den Erfahrungen nach Quadrantenintervention. Auch hier wird nach ca. fünf bis sechs Monaten eine Kontrolluntersuchung durchgeführt, weil bis dahin auch das Schmerzgedächtnis nachgelassen haben sollte.